Hanks, Kelley among Caucus nominees

By Nick Madigan

HOLLYWOOD (Variety) - The Caucus for Producers, Writers and Directors has announced nominations for its 16th annual awards show, to be held Jan 17.

In the realm of television producers, nods went to Tom Hanks for ``From the Earth to the Moon''; David E. Kelley, ``Ally McBeal'' and ``The Practice''; Chris Carter, ``The X-Files'' and ``Millennium''; and Dorothea Petrie, ``Love is Never Silent.''

Among writers, the nominees are Tom Fontana, ``Homicide: Life on the Street''; Matt Groening, ``The Simpsons''; Fay Kanin, ``Friendly Fire''; and John Wells, ``ER'' and``Trinity.''

Nominated directors are Jim Burrows, ``Caroline in the City''; John Frankenheimer, ``George Wallace''; Mimi Leder, ``The Peacemaker'' and ``ER''; and Joe Sargent, ``Crime andPunishment.''

The nominations were announced by caucus chairman Jerry Isenberg and Chuck Fries, the awards dinner chairman.

At the Jan. 17 event, scheduled at the Four Seasons Hotel, the group will also present its Distinguished Service Award, while another industry figure will be saluted as Member of theYear.